zambon
Verde
Verde

lightened gears or new original gears

Post by zambon »

I am rebuilding my verde transmission with some new synchros and I have decided to have my gears lightened while I am at it. I talked to a machinist friend yesterday and he offered to do the work for me. Then he offered to make entirely new gears instead.
If I had him make me new gears, what types of treatment would the gears need after fabrication? I have seen the term ¨shot peen¨ often on this board, but I am unfamiliar with this process. :oops: Could someone educate me?
What about this idea of having new gears made? Is this advised? I assume it would be difficult to match the quality of the factory gears.
I could also have him make me gears with different ratios, I guess. I am no engineer, however, and I dont know what to go with.
People are always debating different engine-transmission combinations, but what about a new set of ratios? I could have my friend make the gears at an attractive price (compared to some of the prices that have been discussed here on the board). I personally have no interest in a race box, but I am interested in furthering the cause of our cars, since they are not making new ones anymore (w/rwd anyway).
MerrilGordon
Gold
Gold

Post by MerrilGordon »

That sounds interesting Zambon. People here are pretty happy with the "Platinum" transmission and the 4.10 R&P, but I like the taller ring and pinions of the Verde and 82-83 transaxles. My idea of an ideal ratio would be stock Milano 1st and 2nd, but then a 3.0 third rather than the taller stock Milano gear or shorter Alfetta 3rd gear. Then the Alfetta 4th gear and stock Verde 5th. That gives one a nice close ratio transmission along with a tall highway cruising gear. I daydream (well at least while on the stairmaster at the gym) about having those kind of ratios.

Regarding heat treating, gear teeth angle, and all that, I'll have to defer to the other experts on this site.

Merril
GTV63.0
82 GTV6 3.0
zambon
Verde