zambon
Verde
Verde

Pinion Depth

Post by zambon »

I am trying to rebuild a Platinum transaxle right now. On disassembly, I discovered that the pinion shim was badly worn. I found some shims from the Nissan parts bin that are close to the correct size. The shaft of the pinion is 1.1735in on the spot that the shim rests. The original shim has an ID of 1.1840in. My new Nissan shim has an ID of 1.1915in.
Does anyone think my Nissan shim is too sloppy on the ID? I sort of think that it isnt so important, since the load is on the face of the shim.

Anyway, I have had the Nissan shim surface ground to a thickness of .081in. I arrived at this number by measuring the original shim and finding it to be .070in. I thought I would start on the large side, since I could always have more material removed.

The photos show the pattern on my ring after installation of the ground Nissan shim. I am not experienced with setting these up, but it looks to me like the pinion needs to go deeper into the ring, meaning that my .081in shim is too thin.
Please let me know what you think. Sorry for giving measurements in inches, I am dealing with American machinists and inches are what they prefer to talk about
Attachments
photo (3).JPG
photo (3).JPG (84.76 KiB) Viewed 9916 times
photo (2).JPG
photo (2).JPG (112.41 KiB) Viewed 9916 times
Mats
Verde
Verde

Re: Pinion Depth

Post by Mats »

I agree.

I also strongly suggest that you get shims that are ready made and not ground. If you grind the surface the hardening is lost and it will wear fast.

Get a set of shims so you can try different heights, but you are VERY close to the correct height so no huge steps needed. You do however need to torque everything down or you will get a different result in the end when everything has settled.
Also, when you move the pinion further towards the centre of the diff you will also move the pattern on the coast side...